How to look like a serious walker

by

The better weather we’ve at last been enjoying over the past few days has meant that I’ve finally been able to do my first serious walking of the Spring.  A group of us stayed in Herefordshire over the weekend and made the most of the delightful countryside as we trekked through it.

 

Although I’m a keen walker I often don’t use a hiking stick and didn’t take one this weekend.  Some in the group did, however, and it was interesting to see how much more seriously they were taken as walkers.

 

In the company of someone with a hiking stick or trekking pole, it’s immediately assumed you’re undertaking a long walk or you’re going over some difficult terrain – even if you’re just popping out for the newspaper!

 

I have to confess to a special interest in this because we sell hiking sticks from our website.  I therefore know from what I’ve learned at Somerwood that they are not exclusively for serious walkers, and anyone can benefit from the stability they provide.

 

But it’s all a matter of perception.

Leave a comment